About us

Short history | Overview | Academic programmes | Great physicists of Cluj


The tradition of the higher education in Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Physics included established its roots centuries ago. The first document about the University of Cluj (with courses given in Latin) from 1581 mentioned the presence of the Faculties of Theology, Philosophy and Law. In 1697 we found with the Faculties of Philosophy and Theology, the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences. In 1784 the whole education system was restructured and the University was transformed into the Royal Academic high school (with courses in German language). However, the Faculty of Natural Sciences was dissolved in 1822. The Faculty of Mathematics and Faculty of Natural Sciences was re-established in 1872 together with other three faculties (with courses in Hungarian). After the unification of Transylvania with Romania, on December 1st, 1918, many changes took place. Among them, University of Upper Dacia was founded (with courses in Romanian), a University in which we found the Faculty of Natural Sciences (with the following departments: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Natural Sciences).
Beside other specialists who became professors at the Physics Department, Augustin Maior, the inventor of multiple telephony, is one of the most prestigious scientists in the field of physics. He was the founder of the first Romanian Theoretical Physics School.
In May 1923 professor Maior was president of the Diploma commission in the session as Hermann Oberth defended at our university his thesis entitled The Rocket into Planetary Space, published in 1924 by Oldenbourg Press in Germany and considered the headstone of astronautics. In this book there was established the scientific basis for a technology that enabled humankind to leave the planet Earth and lots of the present space projects were anticipated and discussed.

In 1948, the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics became separated from Faculty of Natural Sciences and functioned like that until 1962 when it divided in the Faculty of Mathematics and the Faculty of Physics.

Together with the line of study in Romanian language, the Faculty has had a line of study in Hungarian since 1959 (for basic courses only). Since 1990, this line of study has developed continuously and since 1994 it has offered a complete line of study for all disciplines of the curricula in the Hungarian language. Since 1997, a German line of study has begun its activity. In parallel, some modules of French courses were organised, especially for the Advanced Studies level (Master of Sciences, Advanced Studies). Master Studies have also been offered in English  since 2002.

The Faculty of Physics offered in the last years a curricula of 4 or 5 years in the following programmes: Physics, 4 years; Physics-Mathematics, 4 years; Physics-Informatics, 4 years, Medical Physics, 4 years and Technological Physics, 5 years.

> up


Nowadays, the Faculty of Physics offers a 3 years curricula (Physics and Environmental Science domains) or a 4 years one (Applied Engineering Sciences and Materials Engineering domains) according to Bologna declaration. In the first three semesters, all students benefit from a general training in Physics topics. In the fourth semester, the students can choose one of the following specializations: Physics; Medical Physics, Computational Physics, Environmental Physics, Technological Physics and Materials Science.
The studies within the first four programmes are rounded with a BA Diploma. The programme of Technological Physics and Materials Science offer the Diploma of Engineers. The programmes of Physics, Medical Physics, Computational Physics and Technological Physics ha
ve also a line of study in Hungarian and the programme of Computational Physics can be offered in German, too. The curriculum is composed of basic and specialized courses in different fields of Physics. Students have an average of 24 hours per week. The students who intend to become teachers in the Secondary or Superior Education System have also to take a Pedagogical module which includes courses of Pedagogy, Psychology, Physics Teaching Methodology and Mathematics Teaching Methodology. The teaching programmes are based on a relevant research activity covering both experimental and theoretical areas.

> up


Undergraduate level

Graduate level - Master level

Ph.D studies

Faculty of Physics offers a 3 years curricula (Physics and Environmental Science domains) or a 4 years one (Applied Engineering Sciences and Materials Engineering domains) according to Bologna declaration.
          Physics, 3 years (Romanian and Hungarian)
Environmental Physics, 3 years (Romanian)
Technological Physics, 4 years (Romanian and Hungarian)
          Materials Science, 4 years (Romanian)
There are also two extensions of the Faculty of Physics at undergraduate level in Zalau and Dej cities.

Physics studies can be completed through the following Master of Science programmes (2 years):
Solid State Physics (in English)
Biophysics and Medical Physics (Romanian and English)
Science and Technology of Advanced Materials (in English)
          Computational Physics (in English)

The Faculty of Physics organizes Ph.D. programs in the following fields:
Atomic and Molecular Physics
Physics of Condensed Matter 
Theoretical Physics
Optical Spectroscopy 


> up




> up